Medium 20 Book List 5-6 Grades 2017-18

Order online, via email, by telephone (661-665-4686), or by visiting our Bakersfield showroom.  We have listed the paperback edition except in cases where the book is only available in hardback.  If you prefer hardback, give us a call.  Book prices listed below reflect the discounted price.

Non-Battle of the Books titles may also be ordered at the same time if you so desire.

The Castle in the Attic Cover Image
$5.59
ISBN: 9780440409410
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling Books - November 1st, 1994

One of the classic fantastical adventures of all time


Ella Enchanted Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9780064407052
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - May 2nd, 2017

This beloved Newbery Honor-winning story about a feisty heroine is sure to enchant readers new and old.

At her birth, Ella of Frell receives a foolish fairy's gift--the "gift" of obedience. Ella must obey any order, whether it's to hop on one foot for a day and a half, or to chop off her own head But strong-willed Ella does not accept her fate...


Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9780307931474
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling Books - June 24th, 2014

Soon to be a Nickelodeon Original Movie
Over 100 Weeks on the New York Times Bestseller List
42 State Award Lists

Discover what James Patterson calls "the coolest library in all the world" in this fun-filled, action-packed bestseller from the much-loved co-author of I Funny and Treasure Hunters


Esperanza Rising Cover Image
$5.59
ISBN: 9780439120425
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - May 1st, 2002

Pura Belpre Award Winner
IRA Notable Book for a Global Society
New York Public Library's 100 Titles for Reading and Sharing


Harry's Mad Cover Image
$5.59
ISBN: 9780679886884
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling Books - July 22nd, 1997

"Harry's parents and friends think he's crazy because he acts out the rich fantasies of his 10-year-old imagination. And when his eccentric American uncle dies and leaves Harry a parrot named Madison (Mad), they're convinced of it. A believable, satisfying animal fantasy, with memorable characterizations and playful humor...a sprightly read-aloud."--Publishers Weekly


Hatchet Cover Image
$7.19
ISBN: 9781416936473
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - January 1st, 2007

This award-winning contemporary classic is the survival story with which all others are compared--and a page-turning, heart-stopping adventure, recipient of the Newbery Honor.


Ice Magic Cover Image
$4.79
ISBN: 9780316139915
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 30th, 1987

ICE MAGIC A strange power is at work in the rink... Pie Pennelli loves to play ice hockey, but he's got some problems: his hand-me-down skates are too big for him, and one of his teammates is always giving him a hard time. But Pie's troubles really begin when his next-door neighbors find an antique hockey game.


Love, Ruby Lavender Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9780152054786
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gulliver Books - March 1st, 2005

Ruby Lavender and Miss Eula are a pretty good team, for a couple of chicken thieves. What other granddaughter-grandmother duo could successfully drive the getaway car for chickens rescued from a journey to the slaughterhouse, paint a whole house shocking pink, and operate their own personal secret-letter post office?


Masterminds Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9780062299994
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - February 2nd, 2016

The first book in the action-packed series from New York Times bestselling author Gordon Korman is perfect for young fans of James Patterson and John Grisham.


My Side of the Mountain Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9780142401118
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - April 12th, 2004

Terribly unhappy in his family's crowded New York City apartment, Sam Gribley runs away to the solitude-and danger-of the mountains, where he finds a side of himself he never knew.


Nim's Island Cover Image
By Wendy Orr, Kerry Millard (Illustrator)
$5.59
ISBN: 9780385736060
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling Books - February 12th, 2008

A girl. An iguana. An island. And e-mail. Meet Nim-a modern-day Robinson Crusoe She can chop down bananas with a machete, climb tall palm trees, and start a fire with a piece of glass. So she's not afraid when her scientist dad sails off to study plankton for three days, leaving her alone on their island.


Number the Stars Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9780547577098
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Houghton Mifflin - May 2nd, 2011

As the German troops begin their campaign to "relocate" all the Jews of Denmark, Annemarie Johansen's family takes in Annemarie's best friend, Ellen Rosen, and conceals her as part of the family.


On the Banks of Plum Creek Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780060581831
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - May 11th, 2004

Immerse yourself in Laura Ingalls Wilder's beloved Little House series, now featuring Garth Williams' classic art in vibrant full-color Based on the real-life adventures of Laura Ingalls Wilder, On the Banks of Plum Creek is the Newbery Honor-winning fourth book in the Little House series, which has captivated generations of readers.


Redwall Cover Image
$7.19
ISBN: 9780441005482
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ace Books - May 4th, 1998

The book that inspired a legend--the first novel in the bestselling saga of Redwall.


Scared Stiff Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9781481449106
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin Paperbacks - April 19th, 2016

This bestselling classic mystery filled with "clever sleuthing" (Publishers Weekly) by two brothers looking for information about their missing mother from three-time Edgar Award--winning author Willo Davis Roberts is a thrilling roller coaster ride of a read.


Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer Cover Image
By Kelly Jones, Katie Kath (Illustrator)
$5.59
ISBN: 9780385755559
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling Books - March 8th, 2016

Fans of Polly Horvath or Roald Dahl will love this quirky story of a determined girl, and some extraordinary chickens.


What's the Big Idea, Ben Franklin Cover Image
By Jean Fritz, Margot Tomes (Illustrator)
$5.59
ISBN: 9780698113725
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - January 1st, 2000

A fun historic tale by Newbery Honor-winning author, Jean Fritz

No matter how busy he was, Ben Franklin always found time to try out new ideas and he was also a man of many talents. He was also an ambassador to England, a printer, an almanac maker, a politician, and even a vegetarian (for a time).


The White Mountains Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9781481414777
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin Paperbacks - May 13th, 2014

Monstrous machines rule the Earth, but a few humans are fighting for freedom in this repackaged start to a classic alien trilogy ideal for fans of Rick Yancey's The 5th Wave.


A Wrinkle in Time Cover Image
$5.59
ISBN: 9780312367541
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Square Fish - May 1st, 2007

Madeleine L'Engle's ground-breaking science fiction and fantasy classic, soon to be a major motion picture.

It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of a most disturbing stranger.


Wonder Cover Image
$13.59
ISBN: 9780375869020
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - February 14th, 2012

NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING JULIA ROBERTS, OWEN WILSON, AND JACOB TREMBLAY

Over 6 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face.

The book that inspired the Choose Kind movement.