Home School Book List 3-5 Grades 2017-18

Order online, via email, by telephone (661-665-4686), or by visiting our Bakersfield showroom.  We have listed the paperback edition except in cases where the book is only available in hardback.  If you prefer hardback, give us a call.  Book prices listed below reflect the discounted price.

Non-Battle of the Books titles may also be ordered at the same time if you so desire.

Christopher Mouse: The Tale of a Small Traveler Cover Image
By William Wise, Patrick Benson (Illustrator)
$9.89
ISBN: 9781582347080
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury USA Childrens - June 1st, 2006

Recognition
• A Texas Bluebonnet 2005-2006 Master List Selection • A Bank Street Children's Book Committee Outstanding Children's Book of the Year • A Book Links Lasting Connection Book
Hardcover edition available:
Christopher Mouse 1582348782 - $15.95
Reviews


From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler Cover Image
$7.64
ISBN: 9780689711817
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - April 1st, 1998

2017 marks the fiftieth anniversary of the beloved classic From the Mixed-up files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler.

In this winner of the Newbery Medal from E.L.


The Great Turkey Walk Cover Image
$7.64
ISBN: 9780374427986
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Square Fish - September 1st, 2000

Yeeeeeee-haw! Git along, little . . . turkeys?


The Kite Fighters Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780547328638
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Clarion Books - June 7th, 2010

In a riveting narrative set in fifteenth-century Korea, two brothers discover a shared passion for kites. Kee-sup can craft a kite unequaled in strength and beauty, but his younger brother, Young-sup, can fly a kite as if he controlled the wind itself.


The Mysterious Benedict Society Cover Image
By Trenton Lee Stewart, Carson Ellis (Illustrator)
$8.49
ISBN: 9780316003957
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 1st, 2008

For fans of Lemony Snicket and Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library, this first book in the bestselling, award-winning Mysterious Benedict Society Series is not to be missed!


No Talking Cover Image
By Andrew Clements, Mark Elliott (Illustrator)
$6.79
ISBN: 9781416909842
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - June 23rd, 2009

It’s boys vs. girls when the noisiest, most talkative, and most competitive fifth graders in history challenge one another to see who can go longer without talking. Teachers and school administrators are in an uproar, until an innovative teacher sees how the kids’ experiment can provide a terrific and unique lesson in communication.


Ramona the Pest Cover Image
By Beverly Cleary, Jacqueline Rogers (Illustrator)
$6.79
ISBN: 9780380709540
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - March 17th, 2020

Newbery Medal winning author Beverly Cleary expertly depicts the trials and triumphs of growing up through a relatable heroine who isn't afraid to be exactly who she is. This classic chapter book is an excellent choice to share during homeschooling, in particular for children ages 7 to 9 who are reading independently.


Soup Cover Image
$5.09
ISBN: 9780679892618
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling - November 17th, 1998

"Rural Vermont during the 1920's is the setting for this nostalgic account of episodes in the lives of young Robert Peck and his pal, Soup."--starred, School Library Journal


The Sword in the Tree Cover Image
By Clyde Robert Bulla, Bruce Bowles (Illustrator)
$4.24
ISBN: 9780064421324
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - May 3rd, 2000

Best-selling author Clyde Robert Bulla's classic, finely-crafted Arthurian tale with its sword fights, dark and dangerous dungeon, roguish knaves, action-packed showdowns and tales of dangerous feats, will appeal to emerging readers who are ready for chapter books and reluctant tween readers alike.


The Yellow Star: The Legend of King Christian X of Denmark Cover Image
By Carmen Agra Deedy, Henri Sorensen (Illustrator)
$15.29
ISBN: 9781561452088
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Peachtree Publishing Company - September 1st, 2000

Without the yellow star to point them out, the Jews looked like any other Danes.