Home School Book List 3-5 Grades 2017-18

Order online, via email, by telephone (661-665-4686), or by visiting our Bakersfield showroom.  We have listed the paperback edition except in cases where the book is only available in hardback.  If you prefer hardback, give us a call.  Book prices listed below reflect the discounted price.

Non-Battle of the Books titles may also be ordered at the same time if you so desire.

Christopher Mouse: The Tale of a Small Traveler Cover Image
By William Wise, Patrick Benson (Illustrator)
Potentially Unavailable: Email or call Russo's for price and availability
ISBN: 9781582347080
Availability: Backordered
Published: Bloomsbury USA Childrens - May 30th, 2006

Recognition
• A Texas Bluebonnet 2005-2006 Master List Selection • A Bank Street Children's Book Committee Outstanding Children's Book of the Year • A Book Links Lasting Connection Book
Hardcover edition available:
Christopher Mouse 1582348782 - $15.95
Reviews


From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler Cover Image
$7.64
ISBN: 9780689711817
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - April 1st, 1998

2017 marks the fiftieth anniversary of the beloved classic From the Mixed-up files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler.

In this winner of the Newbery Medal from E.L.


The Great Turkey Walk Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780374427986
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Square Fish - September 1st, 2000

Yeeeeeee-haw! Git along, little . . . turkeys?


The Kite Fighters Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780547328638
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - June 7th, 2010

In a riveting narrative set in fifteenth-century Korea, two brothers discover a shared passion for kites. Kee-sup can craft a kite unequaled in strength and beauty, but his younger brother, Young-sup, can fly a kite as if he controlled the wind itself.


The Mysterious Benedict Society Cover Image
By Trenton Lee Stewart, Carson Ellis (Illustrator)
$8.49
ISBN: 9780316003957
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 1st, 2008

For fans of Lemony Snicket and Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library, this first book in the bestselling, award-winning Mysterious Benedict Society Series is not to be missed!


No Talking Cover Image
By Andrew Clements, Mark Elliott (Illustrator)
$6.79
ISBN: 9781416909842
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - June 23rd, 2009

It's boys vs. girls when the noisiest, most talkative, and most competitive fifth graders in history challenge one another to see who can go longer without talking. Teachers and school administrators are in an uproar, until an innovative teacher sees how the kids' experiment can provide a terrific and unique lesson in communication.


Ramona the Pest Cover Image
By Beverly Cleary, Jacqueline Rogers (Illustrator)
$6.79
ISBN: 9780380709540
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - March 19th, 2013

Newbery Medal-winning author Beverly Cleary expertly depicts the trials and triumphs of growing up through a relatable heroine who isn't afraid to be exactly who she is.

Ramona Quimby is excited to start kindergarten. No longer does she have to watch her older sister, Beezus, ride the bus to school with all the big kids. She's finally old enough to take the bus too!


Soup Cover Image
$5.09
ISBN: 9780679892618
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling - November 17th, 1998

"Rural Vermont during the 1920's is the setting for this nostalgic account of episodes in the lives of young Robert Peck and his pal, Soup."--starred, School Library Journal


The Sword in the Tree Cover Image
By Clyde Robert Bulla, Bruce Bowles (Illustrator)
Potentially Unavailable: Email or call Russo's for price and availability
ISBN: 9780064421324
Availability: Backordered
Published: HarperCollins - May 3rd, 2000

In the days of King Arthur there stood a mighty oak tree within the walls of a castle. Peace reigned in the castle until the fearsome night when Lionel, longlost brother of Lord Weldon, returned to cause trouble and unhappiness.


The Yellow Star: The Legend of King Christian X of Denmark Cover Image
$14.41
ISBN: 9781561452088
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Peachtree Publishers - September 1st, 2000

When Nazi soldiers occupied his country, King Christian X of Denmark committed himself to keeping all Danes safe from harm. The bravery of the Danes and their king during that dangerous time has inspired many legends. The most enduring is the legend of the yellow star, which symbolizes the loyalty and fearless spirit of the king and his people.