Medium 20 Book List 5-6 Grades 2018-19

Order online, via email, by telephone (661-665-4686), or by visiting our Bakersfield showroom.  We have listed the paperback edition except in cases where the book is only available in hardback.  If you prefer hardback, give us a call.  Book prices listed below reflect the discounted price.

Non-Battle of the Books titles may also be ordered at the same time if you so desire.

Crenshaw Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9781250091666
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Square Fish - September 26th, 2017

In her first novel since winning the Newbery Medal, New York Times bestselling author Katherine Applegate delivers an unforgettable and magical story about family, friendship, and resilience.


The Secret School Cover Image
By Avi
$6.79
ISBN: 9780152046996
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - August 1st, 2003

More than anything, Ida Bidson wants to become a teacher. To do that, she must finish eighth grade, then go on to high school. But her dream falters when the one-room school in her remote Colorado town shuts down. Her only hope is to keep the school open without anyone finding out. Yet even a secret school needs a teacher. Ida can't be it. . . .


The Indian in the Cupboard Cover Image
$5.94
ISBN: 9780375847530
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling - February 9th, 2010

Full of magic and appealing characters, this classic novel takes readers on a remarkable adventure.


A Nest for Celeste: A Story About Art, Inspiration, and the Meaning of Home Cover Image
By Henry Cole, Henry Cole (Illustrator)
$5.94
ISBN: 9780061704123
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - February 21st, 2012

A fanciful history lesson for middle graders, featuring a charming mouse named Celeste.

Celeste is a mouse who is looking for a home. Is it nestled in the toe of a warm boot? In the shirt pocket of Celeste’s new friend Joseph? Or is home the place deep inside Celeste’s heart, where friendships live?


The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of Thread Cover Image
$7.64
ISBN: 9780763680893
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - December 8th, 2015

A brave mouse, a covetous rat, a wishful serving girl, and a princess named Pea come together in Kate DiCamillo's Newbery Medal–winning tale.


Tuesdays at the Castle Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9781681192185
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury USA Childrens - February 21st, 2017

See where it all began with the start to Jessica Day George's bestselling series about a castle that can rebuild itself and the children who defend it.


Running Out of Time Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780689812361
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - February 1st, 1997

Run For Your Life


Midnight Rider Cover Image
$7.64
ISBN: 9780689870101
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - November 28th, 2006

Fourteen-year-old Hannah is an orphan living with her cruel aunt Phoebe in Salem, Massachusetts. Hannah recently lost her mother, and now her only comfort is her horse, Promise. But when her money-hungry aunt sells the horse and then indentures Hannah to the Boston family of a British general, Hannah vows to retrieve Promise at all costs, and join the fight for freedom.


Roller Girl Cover Image
$11.04
ISBN: 9780803740167
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Books - March 10th, 2015

The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile


Slacker Cover Image
$5.94
ISBN: 9780545823166
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - April 25th, 2017

Cameron Boxer is very happy to spend his life avoiding homework, hanging out with his friends, and gaming for hours in his basement. It's not too hard for him to get away with it . . . until he gets so caught up in one game that he almost lets his house burn down around him.



Oops.


The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Chronicles of Narnia #2) Cover Image
By C. S. Lewis, Pauline Baynes (Illustrator)
$6.79
ISBN: 9780064471046
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - March 5th, 2002

Don’t miss one of America’s top 100 most-loved novels, selected by PBS’s The Great American Read.


Wild Wings Cover Image
By Gill Lewis, Yuta Onoda (Illustrator)
$7.64
ISBN: 9781442414464
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - June 12th, 2012

This “vividly imagined and well-written novel” (Booklist, starred review) tells a gripping story about a boy from Scotland and a girl from West Africa who join together to save a migrating Osprey—and end up saving each other.

When Callum spots crazy Iona McNair on his family’s sprawling property, she’s catching a fish with her bare hands.


Shiloh (Shiloh Quartet) Cover Image
$7.64
ISBN: 9780689835827
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin Paperbacks - June 23rd, 2010

Marty will do anything to save his new friend Shiloh in this Newbery Medal-winning novel from Phillis Reynolds Naylor.


The Kite Fighters Cover Image
Potentially Unavailable: Email or call Russo's for price and availability
ISBN: 9780547328638
Availability: Backordered
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - June 7th, 2010

In a riveting narrative set in fifteenth-century Korea, two brothers discover a shared passion for kites. Kee-sup can craft a kite unequaled in strength and beauty, but his younger brother, Young-sup, can fly a kite as if he controlled the wind itself.


Secrets at Sea Cover Image
$7.64
ISBN: 9780142421833
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - October 11th, 2012

The adorable tale of a family of mice stowaways on an adventurous ship's journey


Sideways Stories from Wayside School Cover Image
By Louis Sachar, Adam McCauley (Illustrator)
$5.94
ISBN: 9780380731480
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - December 28th, 2004

Bestselling and Newbery Medal-winning author Louis Sachar knows how to make readers laugh. And there are laughs galore in perennial favorite Wayside School Is Falling Down! This is the rack-size paperback.


Frozen Stiff Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780440413738
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling - October 12th, 1999

What begins as a two-night camping and kayaking trek in the untamed Alaskan wilderness turns into a test of survival for Cody and her cousin Derek. While their mothers are in Juneau picking up supplies for Yakutat Lodge, the cousins sneak off in an old pickup. The taste of freedom is soon tainted when Cody's kayak is lost on the rising tide, washing away her life vest and precious supplies.


The Mysterious Benedict Society Cover Image
By Trenton Lee Stewart, Carson Ellis (Illustrator)
$8.49
ISBN: 9780316003957
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 1st, 2008

For fans of Lemony Snicket and Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library, this first book in the bestselling, award-winning Mysterious Benedict Society Series is not to be missed!


The Trouble with Tuck: The Inspiring Story of a Dog Who Triumphs Against All Odds Cover Image
Potentially Unavailable: Email or call Russo's for price and availability
ISBN: 9780440416968
Availability: Backordered
Published: Yearling - May 9th, 2000

Available for the first time in a Yearling edition, the classic, inspiring story of a dog who triumphs against all odds, by the bestselling author of The Cay.


A Crooked Kind of Perfect Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780152066086
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - April 6th, 2009

Ten-year-old Zoe Elias has perfect piano dreams. She can practically feel the keys under her flying fingers; she can hear the audience's applause.