Medium 20 Book List 7-8 Grades 2018-19

Order online, via email, by telephone (661-665-4686), or by visiting our Bakersfield showroom.  We have listed the paperback edition except in cases where the book is only available in hardback.  If you prefer hardback, give us a call.  Book prices listed below reflect the discounted price.

Non-Battle of the Books titles may also be ordered at the same time if you so desire.

Doll Bones Cover Image
By Holly Black, Eliza Wheeler (Illustrator)
$7.64
ISBN: 9781416963998
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - April 14th, 2015

Discover the Newbery Honor winner Doll Bones, from Holly Black, the cocreator of the Spiderwick Chronicles. A Kirkus Reviews Best Book. A School Library Journal Best Book. A Booklist Editor’s Choice Books for Youth. A Publishers Weekly Best Children’s Book.


A Gathering of Days: A New England Girl's Journal, 1830-1832 Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780689714191
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - October 31st, 1990

The Incredible Journey Cover Image
By Sheila Burnford, Carl Burger (Illustrator)
$6.79
ISBN: 9780440413240
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling - January 22nd, 1997

Fans of Old Yeller, Where the Red Fern Grows, and Shiloh will love this timeless classic about two dogs and a cat that embark on a journey to return to their owner and inspired the movie Homeward Bound.
 


The Pinballs Cover Image
$5.94
ISBN: 9780064401982
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - August 10th, 2004

From Newbery-winning author Betsy Byars comes a story full of "poignancy, perception, and humor" (The Chicago Tribune), about three foster kids who learn what it takes to make a family.

You can't always decide where life will take you—especially when you're a kid.


The School Story Cover Image
By Andrew Clements, Brian Selznick (Illustrator)
$6.79
ISBN: 9780689851865
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - August 2002

Two middle school girls scheme to publish a book in this novel from Andrew Clements, the author of Frindle.

Natalie's best friend, Zoe, is sure that the novel Natalie's written is good enough to be published. But how can a twelve-year-old girl publish a book?


The Watsons Go to Birmingham--1963 Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780385382946
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling - August 6th, 2013

The Newbery and Coretta Scott King Honoree about the Weird Watsons of Flint, Michigan—from Christopher Paul Curtis, author of Bud, Not Buddy, a Newbery Medal and Coretta Scott Award Winner.


The Midwife's Apprentice Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780547722177
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Clarion Books - June 19th, 2012

From the author of Catherine, Called Birdy comes another spellbinding novel set in medieval England. The girl known only as Brat has no family, no home, and no future until she meets Jane the Midwife and becomes her apprentice.


Mockingbird Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780142417751
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - February 3rd, 2011

THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARD WINNER and ONE OF THE MOST IMPORTANT NOVELS OF OUR TIME FOR YOUNG READERS


The Skin I'm in (new cover) Cover Image
Potentially Unavailable: Email or call Russo's for price and availability
ISBN: 9781423103851
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Jump At The Sun - July 17th, 2007

One-Eyed Cat Cover Image
By Paula Fox, Erika Meltzer (Illustrator)
$7.64
ISBN: 9780689839702
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin - December 2000

A Single Shot
Ned fired the forbidden rifle just once, at a flickering shadow in the autumn moonlight. But someone -- a face, fleetingly seen staring at him from an attic window -- was watching.


Julie of the Wolves Cover Image
$5.94
ISBN: 9780064400589
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - January 5th, 2016

The thrilling Newbery Medal–winning classic about an Eskimo girl lost on the Alaskan tundra


Protecting Marie Cover Image
$5.94
ISBN: 9780061288760
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Greenwillow Books - October 2nd, 2007

Fanny has wanted a dog all her life. For a brief moment her dream came true, but then her father decided the puppy brought too much chaos to his neat, ordered home. Fanny has never been able to forgive him for it.


Everything on a Waffle Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780312380045
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Square Fish - April 15th, 2008

Primrose Squarp simply knows her parents did not perish at sea during a terrible storm, but try convincing the other residents of Coal Harbour on that score. For all practical purposes, at least for the time being, Primrose is an orphan, and there's no great clamoring of prospective adopters.


Swindle Cover Image
$5.94
ISBN: 9780439903455
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - April 15th, 2009

Ocean's 11 . . . with 11-year-olds, in a super stand-alone heist caper from Gordon Korman!

After a mean collector named Swindle cons him out of his most valuable baseball card, Griffin Bing must put together a band of misfits to break into Swindle's compound and recapture the card.


If Your Name Was Changed At Ellis Island (If You…) Cover Image
By Wayne Parmenter (Illustrator), Ellen Levine
$5.94
ISBN: 9780590438292
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - August 1994



If your name were changed at Ellis Island
--Would everyone in your family travel together?
--How long would you stay at Ellis Island?
--Would your name be changed?

This book tells you what it was like if when Ellis Island was opened in 1892 as a center for immigrants coming to live in America.


A Long Walk to Water: Based on a True Story Cover Image
$7.64
ISBN: 9780547577319
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Clarion Books - October 4th, 2011

The New York Times bestseller A Long Walk to Water begins as two stories, told in alternating sections, about two eleven-year-olds in Sudan, a girl in 2008 and a boy in 1985. The girl, Nya, is fetching water from a pond that is two hours’ walk from her home: she makes two trips to the pond every day.


A Long Way From Chicago: A Novel in Stories Cover Image
$7.64
ISBN: 9780141303529
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - September 30th, 1999

A Newbery Honor Book

A summer they'll never forget.


Becoming Naomi León (Scholastic Gold) Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780439269971
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - October 2005

Becoming Naomi León joins the Scholastic Gold line, which features award-winning and beloved novels. Includes exclusive bonus content!

A Pura Belpré Honor Book

"Engrossing." -- The New York Times


Maniac Magee Cover Image
$6.80
ISBN: 9780316809061
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - November 1999

A Newbery Medal winning modern classic about a racially divided small town and a boy who runs.


Shabanu: Daughter of the Wind (Shabanu Series) Cover Image
$8.49
ISBN: 9780307977885
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ember - September 11th, 2012

The Newbery Honor winner about a heroic Pakistani girl that The Boston Globe called “Remarkable . . . a riveting tour de force.”