Medium 20 Book List 7-8 Grades 2018-19

Order online, via email, by telephone (661-665-4686), or by visiting our Bakersfield showroom.  We have listed the paperback edition except in cases where the book is only available in hardback.  If you prefer hardback, give us a call.  Book prices listed below reflect the discounted price.

Non-Battle of the Books titles may also be ordered at the same time if you so desire.

Doll Bones Cover Image
By Holly Black, Eliza Wheeler (Illustrator)
$7.64
ISBN: 9781416963998
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - April 14th, 2015

Discover the Newbery Honor winner Doll Bones, from Holly Black, the cocreator of the Spiderwick Chronicles. A Kirkus Reviews Best Book. A School Library Journal Best Book. A Booklist Editor's Choice Books for Youth. A Publishers Weekly Best Children's Book.


A Gathering of Days: A New England Girl's Journal, 1830-1832 Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780689714191
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - October 31st, 1990

This novel, written in diary form, tells of "a pivotal year for 19th-century New Englander Catherine Cabot Hill--one of change, loss, and leave taking . . . a low-key, intense and reflective book".--"School Library Journal", starred review. 1980 Newbery Award book.


The Incredible Journey Cover Image
By Sheila Burnford, Carl Burger (Illustrator)
$6.79
ISBN: 9780440413240
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling Books - January 22nd, 1997

Fans of Old Yeller, Where the Red Fern Grows, and Shiloh will love this timeless classic about two dogs and a cat that embark on a journey to return to their owner and inspired the movie Homeward Bound.


The Pinballs Cover Image
$5.59
ISBN: 9780064401982
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - August 10th, 2004

From Newbery-winning author Betsy Byars comes a story full of "poignancy, perception, and humor" (The Chicago Tribune), about three foster kids who learn what it takes to make a family.

You can't always decide where life will take you—especially when you're a kid.


The School Story Cover Image
By Andrew Clements, Brian Selznick (Illustrator)
$6.79
ISBN: 9780689851865
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - August 1st, 2002

Two middle school girls scheme to publish a book in this novel from Andrew Clements, the author of Frindle.

Natalie's best friend, Zoe, is sure that the novel Natalie's written is good enough to be published. But how can a twelve-year-old girl publish a book? Natalie's mother is an editor for a big children's publisher, but Natalie doesn't want to ask for any favors.


The Watsons Go to Birmingham - 1963 Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780385382946
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling Books - August 6th, 2013

The Newbery and Coretta Scott King Honoree about the Weird Watsons of Flint, Michigan--from Christopher Paul Curtis, author of Bud, Not Buddy, a Newbery Medal and Coretta Scott Award Winner.


The Midwife's Apprentice Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780547722177
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Houghton Mifflin - June 19th, 2012

From the author of Catherine, Called Birdy comes another spellbinding novel set in medieval England. The girl known only as Brat has no family, no home, and no future until she meets Jane the Midwife and becomes her apprentice.


Mockingbird Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780142417751
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - February 3rd, 2011

THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARD WINNER and ONE OF THE MOST IMPORTANT NOVELS OF OUR TIME FOR YOUNG READERS


The Skin I'm in (New Cover) Cover Image
$7.64
ISBN: 9781423103851
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Jump at the Sun - August 1st, 2007


Maleeka suffers every day from the taunts of the other kids in her class. If they're not getting at her about her homemade clothes or her good grades, it's about her dark, black skin.


One-Eyed Cat Cover Image
By Paula Fox, Erika Meltzer (Illustrator)
$6.79
ISBN: 9780689839702
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin Paperbacks - December 1st, 2000

A Single Shot
Ned fired the forbidden rifle just once, at a flickering shadow in the autumn moonlight. But someone -- a face, fleetingly seen staring at him from an attic window -- was watching.


Julie of the Wolves Cover Image
$5.59
ISBN: 9780064400589
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - January 5th, 2016

Jean Craighead George’s Newbery Medal–winning classic about an Eskimo girl lost on the Alaskan tundra now features bonus content.


Protecting Marie Cover Image
$5.94
ISBN: 9780061288760
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Greenwillow Books - October 2nd, 2007

Fanny has wanted a dog all her life. For a brief moment her dream came true, but then her father decided the puppy brought too much chaos to his neat, ordered home. Fanny has never been able to forgive him for it.


Everything on a Waffle Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9780312380045
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Square Fish - April 15th, 2008

Primrose Squarp simply knows her parents did not perish at sea during a terrible storm, but try convincing the other residents of Coal Harbour on that score. For all practical purposes, at least for the time being, Primrose is an orphan, and there's no great clamoring of prospective adopters.


Swindle (Apple (Scholastic)) Cover Image
$5.94
ISBN: 9780439903455
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic - April 1st, 2009

Ocean's 11 . . . with 11-year-olds, in a super stand-alone heist caper from Gordon Korman


If Your Name Was Changed at Ellis Island (If You.) Cover Image
By Ellen Levine, Wayne Parmenter (Illustrator)
$5.59
ISBN: 9780590438292
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - August 1st, 1994


If your name were changed at Ellis Island
--Would everyone in your family travel together?
--How long would you stay at Ellis Island?
--Would your name be changed?
This book tells you what it was like if when Ellis Island was opened in 1892 as a center for immigrants coming to live in America.


A Long Walk to Water: Based on a True Story Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9780547577319
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Houghton Mifflin - October 4th, 2011

The New York Times bestseller A Long Walk to Water begins as two stories, told in alternating sections, about two eleven-year-olds in Sudan, a girl in 2008 and a boy in 1985. The girl, Nya, is fetching water from a pond that is two hours' walk from her home: she makes two trips to the pond every day.


A Long Way from Chicago: A Novel in Stories (Puffin Modern Classics) Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780141303529
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - October 9th, 2000

A Newbery Honor Book

A summer they'll never forget.


Becoming Naomi Leon Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780439269971
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - October 1st, 2005

A reissue of Pam Munoz Ryan's bestselling backlist with a distinctive author treatment and new cover art by Raul Colon.
Naomi Soledad Leon Outlaw has had a lot to contend with in her young life, her name for one. Then there are her clothes (sewn in polyester by Gram), her difficulty speaking up, and her status at school as -nobody special.-


Maniac Magee Cover Image
$6.40
ISBN: 9780316809061
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Young Readers - November 1st, 1999

A Newbery Medal winning modern classic about a racially divided small town and a boy who runs.


Shabanu: Daughter of the Wind Cover Image
Potentially Unavailable: Email or call Russo's for price and availability
ISBN: 9780307977885
Availability: Backordered
Published: Ember - September 11th, 2012

The Newbery Honor winner about a heroic Pakistani girl that The Boston Globe called "Remarkable . . . a riveting tour de force."