Medium Plus 24 Book List 7-8 Grades 2017-18

Order online, via email, by telephone (661-665-4686), or by visiting our Bakersfield showroom.  We have listed the paperback edition except in cases where the book is only available in hardback.  If you prefer hardback, give us a call.  Book prices listed below reflect the discounted price.

Non-Battle of the Books titles may also be ordered at the same time if you so desire.

Baseball in April and Other Stories Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9780152025670
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Houghton Mifflin - April 1st, 2000

The Mexican American author Gary Soto draws on his own experience of growing up in California's Central Valley in this finely crafted collection of eleven short stories that reveal big themes in the small events of daily life.


Becoming Ben Franklin: How a Candle-Maker's Son Helped Light the Flame of Liberty Cover Image
$19.96
ISBN: 9780823423743
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Holiday House - March 1st, 2013

In 1723 Ben Franklin arrived in Philadelphia as a poor and friendless seventeen-year-old who had run away from his family and an apprenticeship in Boston. Sixty-two years later he stepped ashore in nearly the same spot but was greeted by cannons, bells, and a cheering crowd, now a distinguished statesman, renowned author, and world-famous scientist.


The Boy in the Striped Pajamas (Young Reader's Choice Award - Intermediate Division) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780385751537
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ember - October 23rd, 2007

"Powerful and unsettling. . . . As memorable an introduction to the subject as The Diary of Anne Frank." --USA Today


Breaker Boys: How a Photograph Helped End Child Labor (Captured History) Cover Image
$7.28
ISBN: 9780756545109
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Compass Point Books - August 1st, 2011

Little boys, some as young as 6, spent their long days, not playing or studying, but sorting coal in dusty, loud, and dangerous conditions. Many of these breaker boys worked 10 hours a day, six days a week all for as little as 45 cents a day. Child labor was common in the United States in the 19th century.


Bud, Not Buddy Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9780440413288
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling Books - January 8th, 2002

The Newbery Medal and Coretta Scott King Award-winning classic about a boy who decides to hit the road to find his father--from Christopher Paul Curtis, author of The Watsons Go To Birmingham--1963, a Newbery and Coretta Scott King Honoree.


Counting by 7s Cover Image
$7.19
ISBN: 9780142422861
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - September 16th, 2014

A New York Times Bestseller

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.


Death Mountain Cover Image
$6.36
ISBN: 9781561454280
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Peachtree Publishers - October 1st, 2007

An afternoon hike in the Sierra Mountains turns into a struggle for survival when two teenage girls become hopelessly lost in an electrical storm and must rely on their own wits and strength to endure.
Almost a year ago, Erin's mother Lannie suddenly left home without any explanation. Now Lannie wants to see her, but Erin feels miserable and unsure about seeing her mother again.


The Egypt Game Cover Image
$7.19
ISBN: 9781416990512
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - July 7th, 2009

The first time Melanie Ross meets April Hall, she's not sure they have anything in common. But she soon discovers that they both love anything to do with ancient Egypt. When they stumble upon a deserted storage yard, Melanie and April decide it's the perfect spot for the Egypt Game.


Eight Cousins (Puffin Classics) Cover Image
$4.79
ISBN: 9780140374568
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - September 1st, 1995

Rose Campbell, tired and ill, has come to live at "The Aunt Hill" after the death of her beloved father. Six aunts fussing and fretting over her are bad enough, but what is a quiet 13-year-old girl to do with seven boisterous boy cousins?


Elephant Run Cover Image
$5.59
ISBN: 9781423104018
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Hyperion Books - June 1st, 2009

In 1941, bombs drop from the night skies of London, demolishing the apartment Nick Freestone lives in with his mother. Deciding the situation in England is too unstable, Nick's mother sends him to live with his father in Burma, hoping he will be safer living on the family's teak plantation. But as soon as Nick arrives, trouble erupts in the remote Burmese elephant village.


The Lottery Rose Cover Image
$5.59
ISBN: 9780425182796
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley Books - January 8th, 2002

The Newbery Award winning author of Across Five Aprils and Up a Road Slowly presents the story of a young boy from a troubled family who learns what it means to love...

The Lottery Rose


The Worst Years of My Life (Middle School #1) Cover Image
$6.40
ISBN: 9780316101691
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Jimmy Patterson - November 6th, 2012

Discover the #1 bestselling middle-grade comic that inspired a major motion picture: Children's Choice Award winner James Patterson has never been more hilarious and heartwarming.


On the Far Side of the Mountain Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9780141312415
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - May 21st, 2001

Two years ago, Sam ran away from New York City to live in the Catskill Mountains. Now his younger sister Alice has joined him and is quietly living in a tree house of her own nearby. Their peaceful life is shattered when a conservation officer confiscates Sam's falcon, Frightful, and Alice suddenly vanishes. Sam leaves his home to search for Alice, hoping to find Frightful, too.


Our Only May Amelia Cover Image
$5.59
ISBN: 9780064408561
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - April 24th, 2001

The beloved Newbery Honor book by the author of The Fourteenth Goldfish, about a spirited heroine growing up with trying circumstances, a sense of adventure, and tremendous heart.

It isn′t easy being a pioneer in the state of Washington in 1899. It′s particularly hard when you are the only girl ever born in the new settlement.


Pictures of Hollis Woods Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9780440415787
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling Books - May 11th, 2004

This Newbery Honor book about a girl who has never known family fighting for her first true home "will leave readers . . . satisfied" (Kirkus Reviews).


A Ring of Endless Light (Austin Family #4) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780312379353
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Square Fish - September 2nd, 2008

Book four of the Austin Family Chronicles, an award-winning young adult series from Madeleine L'Engle, author of A Wrinkle in Time, about a girl who experiences the difficulties and joys of growing up.

A Newbery Honor Book


Sammy Keyes and the Hotel Thief Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9780679892649
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling Books - August 18th, 1998

Sammy Keyes must be a magnet for trouble...


A Single Shard Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9780547534268
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Houghton Mifflin - January 10th, 2011

Tree-ear is fascinated by the celedon ware created in the village of Ch’ulp’o. He is determined to prove himself to the master potter, Min—even if it means making a solitary journey to present Min’s work in the hope of a royal commission . . . or arriving at the royal court with nothing but a single celadon shard.


A String in the Harp Cover Image
$7.19
ISBN: 9781416927716
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin Paperbacks - December 1st, 2006

A family in mourning...an ancient bard...a harp key that brings them together...


Surviving the Applewhites Cover Image
$5.59
ISBN: 9780064410441
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - April 24th, 2012

The side-splittingly funny Newbery Honor Book about a rebellious boy who is sent to a home-schooling program run by one family—the creative, kooky, loud, and loving Applewhites!

Jake Semple is notorious. Rumor has it he managed to get kicked out of every school in Rhode Island, and actually burned the last one down to the ground.


The Land Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9781101997567
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - April 12th, 2016

A stunning repackage of a companion to Mildred D. Taylor's Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry, with cover art by two-time Caldecott Honor Award winner Kadir Nelson


The London Eye Mystery Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9780385751841
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling Books - May 26th, 2009

A five-star mystery now in paperback


The Young Man and the Sea Cover Image
Potentially Unavailable: Email or call Russo's for price and availability
ISBN: 9780756948993
Availability: Special Order -- Russo's will research title and do our best to get it for you
Published: Perfection Learning - July 8th, 2009

Walk Two Moons Cover Image
$7.19
ISBN: 9780064405171
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - December 27th, 2011

In her own singularly beautiful style, Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech intricately weaves together two tales, one funny, one bittersweet, to create a heartwarming, compelling, and utterly moving story of love, loss, and the complexity of human emotion.