Short 10 Book List 4-6 Grades 2017-18

Order online, via email, by telephone (661-665-4686), or by visiting our Bakersfield showroom.  We have listed the paperback edition except in cases where the book is only available in hardback.  If you prefer hardback, give us a call.  Book prices listed below reflect the discounted price.

Non-Battle of the Books titles may also be ordered at the same time if you so desire.

Esperanza Rising Cover Image
$5.59
ISBN: 9780439120425
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - May 1st, 2002

Pura Belpr Award Winner
IRA Notable Book for a Global Society
New York Public Library's 100 Titles for Reading and Sharing


Hatchet Cover Image
$7.19
ISBN: 9781416936473
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - January 1st, 2007

This award-winning contemporary classic is the survival story with which all others are compared--and a page-turning, heart-stopping adventure, recipient of the Newbery Honor.


Love, Ruby Lavender Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9780152054786
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Houghton Mifflin - March 1st, 2005

Ruby Lavender and Miss Eula are a pretty good team, for a couple of chicken thieves. What other granddaughter-grandmother duo could successfully drive the getaway car for chickens rescued from a journey to the slaughterhouse, paint a whole house shocking pink, and operate their own personal secret-letter post office?


Nim's Island Cover Image
By Wendy Orr, Kerry Millard (Illustrator)
$5.59
ISBN: 9780385736060
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling Books - February 12th, 2008

A girl. An iguana. An island. And e-mail. Meet Nim-a modern-day Robinson Crusoe She can chop down bananas with a machete, climb tall palm trees, and start a fire with a piece of glass. So she's not afraid when her scientist dad sails off to study plankton for three days, leaving her alone on their island.


Number the Stars Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9780547577098
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Houghton Mifflin - May 2nd, 2011

As the German troops begin their campaign to "relocate" all the Jews of Denmark, Annemarie Johansen's family takes in Annemarie's best friend, Ellen Rosen, and conceals her as part of the family.


On the Banks of Plum Creek (Little House #4) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780060581831
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - May 11th, 2004

Immerse yourself in Laura Ingalls Wilder’s beloved Little House series, now featuring Garth Williams’ classic art in vibrant full-color! Based on the real-life adventures of Laura Ingalls Wilder, On the Banks of Plum Creek is the Newbery Honor-winning fourth book in the Little House series, which has captivated generations of readers.


Phineas L. Macguire ...Erupts! (Phineas L. Macguire... #1) Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9781416947349
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - May 1st, 2007

Here's what you need to know about Phineas L. MacGuire, boy-scientist extraordinaire, aka Mac:

1. He's allergic to purple, telephone calls, and girls, and can prove it.

2. He's probably the world's expert on mold, including which has the highest stink potential.


Time for Andrew: A Ghost Story Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9780618873166
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Houghton Mifflin - June 18th, 2007

When he goes to spend the summer with his great-aunt in the family's old house, eleven-year-old Drew is drawn eighty years into the past to trade places with his great-great-uncle who is dying of diphtheria.


Tricking the Tallyman Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9780385755191
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dragonfly Books - January 7th, 2014

Are kids interested in learning about the very first American census? Probably not. Do young readers clamor for stories set in the very, very olden days of the late 18th century? Uh, not really. Okay, but do they like nutty cat-and-mouse trickery, wacky slapstick, and animals disguised as people?


Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer Cover Image
By Kelly Jones, Katie Kath (Illustrator)
$5.59
ISBN: 9780385755559
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling Books - March 8th, 2016

Fans of Polly Horvath or Roald Dahl will love this quirky story of a determined girl, and some extraordinary chickens.