Short 10 Book List 6-8 Grades 2017-18

Order online, via email, by telephone (661-665-4686), or by visiting our Bakersfield showroom.  We have listed the paperback edition except in cases where the book is only available in hardback.  If you prefer hardback, give us a call.  Book prices listed below reflect the discounted price.

Non-Battle of the Books titles may also be ordered at the same time if you so desire.

A Ring of Endless Light (Austin Family #4) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780312379353
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Square Fish - September 2nd, 2008

Book four of the Austin Family Chronicles, an award-winning young adult series from Madeleine L'Engle, author of A Wrinkle in Time, about a girl who experiences the difficulties and joys of growing up.

A Newbery Honor Book


Baseball in April and Other Stories Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9780152025670
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Houghton Mifflin - April 1st, 2000

The Mexican American author Gary Soto draws on his own experience of growing up in California's Central Valley in this finely crafted collection of eleven short stories that reveal big themes in the small events of daily life.


Bud, Not Buddy Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9780440413288
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling Books - January 8th, 2002

The Newbery Medal and Coretta Scott King Award-winning classic about a boy who decides to hit the road to find his father--from Christopher Paul Curtis, author of The Watsons Go To Birmingham--1963, a Newbery and Coretta Scott King Honoree.


Counting by 7s Cover Image
$7.19
ISBN: 9780142422861
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - September 16th, 2014

A New York Times Bestseller

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.


The Lottery Rose Cover Image
$5.59
ISBN: 9780425182796
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley Books - January 8th, 2002

The Newbery Award winning author of Across Five Aprils and Up a Road Slowly presents the story of a young boy from a troubled family who learns what it means to love...

The Lottery Rose


On the Far Side of the Mountain Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9780141312415
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - May 21st, 2001

Two years ago, Sam ran away from New York City to live in the Catskill Mountains. Now his younger sister Alice has joined him and is quietly living in a tree house of her own nearby. Their peaceful life is shattered when a conservation officer confiscates Sam's falcon, Frightful, and Alice suddenly vanishes. Sam leaves his home to search for Alice, hoping to find Frightful, too.


Our Only May Amelia Cover Image
$5.59
ISBN: 9780064408561
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - April 24th, 2001

The beloved Newbery Honor book by the author of The Fourteenth Goldfish, about a spirited heroine growing up with trying circumstances, a sense of adventure, and tremendous heart.

It isn′t easy being a pioneer in the state of Washington in 1899. It′s particularly hard when you are the only girl ever born in the new settlement.


Stand Tall Cover Image
$7.19
ISBN: 9780142404270
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Speak - August 16th, 2005

Tree, a six-foot-three-inch twelve-year-old, copes with his parents' recent divorce and his failure as an athlete by helping his grandfather, a Vietnam vet and recent amputee, and Sophie, a new girl at school.


The London Eye Mystery Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9780385751841
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling Books - May 26th, 2009

A five-star mystery now in paperback


Walk Two Moons Cover Image
$7.19
ISBN: 9780064405171
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - December 27th, 2011

In her own singularly beautiful style, Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech intricately weaves together two tales, one funny, one bittersweet, to create a heartwarming, compelling, and utterly moving story of love, loss, and the complexity of human emotion.