Standard 28 Book List 6-8 Grades 2022 - 2023

Order online, via email, by telephone (661-665-4686), or by visiting our Bakersfield showroom.  We have listed the paperback edition except in cases where the book is only available in hardback.  If you prefer hardback, give us a call.  Book prices listed below reflect the discounted price.

Non-Battle of the Books titles may also be ordered at the same time if you so desire.

The Devil's Arithmetic (Puffin Modern Classics) By Jane Yolen Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780142401095
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - April 12th, 2004

30th Anniversary edition with a new introduction from the author 


Dragonwings: Golden Mountain Chronicles: 1903 By Laurence Yep Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780064400855
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - January 23rd, 2001

Newbery Honor Book Dragonwings by Lawrence Yep takes readers on an adventure-filled journey across the world. 

Inspired by the story of a Chinese immigrant who created a flying machine in 1909, Dragonwings touches on the struggles and dreams of Chinese immigrants navigating opportunity and prejudice in San Francisco.


Mystery of the Roman Ransom By Henry Winterfeld, Fritz Biermann (Illustrator), Edith McCormick (Translated by) Cover Image
By Henry Winterfeld, Fritz Biermann (Illustrator), Edith McCormick (Translated by)
$6.79
ISBN: 9780152162689
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Clarion Books - November 1st, 2002

In these two delightful history-mysteries, seven boys in Ancient Rome solve strange crimes . . .


The Wednesday Wars By Gary D. Schmidt Cover Image
$7.64
ISBN: 9780547237602
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Clarion Books - May 18th, 2009

In this Newbery Honor–winning novel, Gary D. Schmidt tells the witty and compelling story of a teenage boy who feels that fate has it in for him.


The classic first book about Percy Jackson, the troubled boy who discovers he is the son of Poseidon, and his adventures with demigods, monsters, and Greek gods.


The Teacher's Funeral By Richard Peck Cover Image
$9.89
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780142405079
Published: Puffin Books - November 21st, 2006

If your teacher has to die, August isn't a bad time of year for it," begins Richard Peck's latest novel, a book full of his signature wit and sass. Russell Culver is fifteen in 1904, and he's raring to leave his tiny Indiana farm town for the endless sky of the Dakotas. To him, school has been nothing but a chain holding him back from his dreams.


Chronicles of Ancient Darkness #1: Wolf Brother By Michelle Paver, Geoff Taylor (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Michelle Paver, Geoff Taylor (Illustrator)
$6.79
ISBN: 9780060728274
Availability: Backordered
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - February 21st, 2006

“Fantasy adventure on a grand scale, with a wealth of wilderness lore and convincing characterizations.” —Booklist

Fans of Fablehaven and City of Ember will devour Michelle Paver’s bestselling fantasy series about one boy’s epic fight against evil and the wolf who guides him.


Woodsong By Gary Paulsen Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9781416939399
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - May 8th, 2007

Three-time Newbery Honor author Gary Paulsen recounts the remarkable experiences that shaped his life and inspired his award-winning novels in this vividly detailed nonfiction middle grade book.

Gary Paulsen is no stranger to adventure.


Bridge to Terabithia 40th Anniversary Edition By Katherine Paterson, Donna Diamond (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Katherine Paterson, Donna Diamond (Illustrator)
$6.79
ISBN: 9780064401845
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - May 2nd, 2017

The 40th anniversary edition of the classic Newbery Medal-winning title by beloved author Katherine Paterson, with brand-new bonus materials including an author's note by Katherine herself and a foreword by New York Times bestselling author Kate DiCamillo. 


Project Mulberry By Linda Sue Park Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780544935211
Availability: Backordered
Published: Clarion Books - June 14th, 2022

In this contemporary novel, Newbery Medalist Linda Sue Park delivers a funny, lively story that illuminates both the process of writing a novel and the meaning of growing up American.

"A rich work that treats serious issues with warmth, respect, and a good deal of humor" (Kirkus starred review). Perfect for both independent reading and classroom sharing.


Black Star, Bright Dawn By Scott O'Dell Cover Image
$8.79
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780547053196
Published: Clarion Books - February 18th, 2008

In this redesigned edition of Scott O'Dell's classic novel, a young Eskimo girl encounters frightening obstacles when she takes her father's place in the Iditarod, the annual 1,172-mile dogsled race in Alaska.


War Horse (Scholastic Gold) By Michael Morpurgo Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780439796644
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - September 1st, 2010

An unforgettable tale of war, redemption, and a hero's journey.

It is 1914, and Joey, a farm horse, is sold to the army and thrust into the midst of World War I on the Western Front.


Touching Spirit Bear By Ben Mikaelsen Cover Image
$7.64
ISBN: 9780380805600
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - April 30th, 2002

In his Nautilus Award-winning classic Touching Spirit Bear, author Ben Mikaelson delivers a powerful coming-of-age story of a boy who must overcome the effects that violence has had on his life.


Mosque By David Macaulay Cover Image
$11.04
ISBN: 9780547015477
Availability: Backordered
Published: Clarion Books - April 28th, 2008

An author and artist who has continually stripped away the mystique of architectural structures that have long fascinated modern people, David Macaulay here reveals the methods and materials used to design and construct a mosque in late-sixteenth- century Turkey.


Heat By Mike Lupica Cover Image
$7.64
ISBN: 9780142407578
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - March 1st, 2007

The #1 Bestseller!


A Handful of Stars By Cynthia Lord Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780545700283
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - May 9th, 2017

This powerful middle-grade novel from the Newbery Honor author of Rules explores a friendship between a small-town girl and the daughter of migrant workers.

When Lily's blind dog, Lucky, slips his collar and runs away across the wide-open blueberry barrens of eastern Maine, it's Salma Santiago who manages to catch him.


The Call of the Wild (Puffin Classics) By Jack London, Melvin Burgess (Introduction by) Cover Image
By Jack London, Melvin Burgess (Introduction by)
$6.79
ISBN: 9780141321059
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - March 27th, 2008

Life is good for Buck in Santa Clara Valley, where he spends his days eating and sleeping in the golden sunshine. But one day a treacherous act of betrayal leads to his kidnap, and he is forced into a life of toil and danger. Dragged away to be a sledge dog in the harsh and freezing cold Yukon, Buck must fight for his survivial.


Hattie Big Sky (Hattie Series #1) By Kirby Larson Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780385735957
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling - December 23rd, 2008

This Newbery Honor winning, New York Times bestseller celebrates the true spirit of independence on the American frontier.


Restart By Gordon Korman Cover Image
$5.94
ISBN: 9781338053807
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - March 27th, 2018

The amazing New York Times bestseller about what you can do when life gives you a second chance.

Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember falling off the roof. He doesn't remember hitting his head. He doesn't, in fact, remember anything. He wakes up in a hospital room and suddenly has to learn his whole life all over again . . .


The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind: Young Readers Edition By William Kamkwamba, Bryan Mealer, Anna Hymas (Illustrator) Cover Image
$7.64
ISBN: 9780147510426
Availability: Backordered
Published: Rocky Pond Books - January 5th, 2016

Now a Netflix film starring and directed by Chiwetel Ejiofor, this is a gripping memoir of survival and perseverance about the heroic young inventor who brought electricity to his Malawian village.


Kira-Kira By Cynthia Kadohata Cover Image
$7.64
ISBN: 9780689856402
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - December 26th, 2006

kira-kira (kee ra kee ra): glittering; shining Glittering. That's how Katie Takeshima's sister, Lynn, makes everything seem. The sky is kira-kira because its color is deep but see-through at the same time. The sea is kira-kira for the same reason. And so are people's eyes.


Breaking Through By Francisco Jiménez Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780618342488
Availability: Backordered
Published: Clarion Books - October 1st, 2002

In this Pura Belpré Honor–winning memoir, sequel to best-selling The Circuit, Francisco Jimenez tells his timely story about immigrant prejudice, keeping hope alive when there is none and his family’s journey to achieving their American dream.


Justin Morgan Had a Horse By Marguerite Henry, Wesley Dennis (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Marguerite Henry, Wesley Dennis (Illustrator)
$16.99
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781481425629
Published: Aladdin - April 14th, 2015

A trainer’s support makes all the difference in this extraordinary tale of a horse who became a legend from Newbery Award–winning author Marguerite Henry, now available in a collectible hardcover gift edition.

In 1791, a Vermont schoolmaster by the name of Justin Morgan comes home with a two-year-old colt named Little Bub.


Abner & Me (Baseball Card Adventures) By Dan Gutman Cover Image
$8.79
ISBN: 9780060534455
Availability: Backordered
Published: HarperCollins - January 30th, 2007

Cannons are blasting!
Bullets are flying!
Wounded soldiers are everywhere!

Stosh has time-traveled to 1863, right into the middle of the Civil War. In possibly his most exciting and definitely his most dangerous trip yet, Stosh has decided to answer the question for all time: did Abner Doubleday, a Civil War general, really invent the game of baseball?


Nory Ryan's Song By Patricia Reilly Giff Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780440418290
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling - September 10th, 2002

Nory Ryan's family has lived on Maidin Bay on the west coast of Ireland for generations, raising a pig and a few chickens, planting potatoes, getting by.


The City of Ember By Jeanne DuPrau Cover Image
$7.64
ISBN: 9780375822742
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling - May 25th, 2004

Ember is the only light in a dark world. But when its lamps begin to flicker, two friends must race to escape the dark. This highly acclaimed adventure series is a modern-day classic—with over 4 MILLION copies sold! 
 


Al Capone Does My Shirts (Tales from Alcatraz #1) By Gennifer Choldenko Cover Image
$7.64
ISBN: 9780142403709
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - April 20th, 2006

The Newbery Honor Book and New York Times Bestseller that is historical fiction with a hint of mystery about living at Alcatraz not as a prisoner, but as a kid meeting some of the most famous criminals in our history. Al Capone Does My Shirts has become an instant classic for all kids to read!


Firegirl By Tony Abbott Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780316011709
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - June 1st, 2007

This poignant novel about a boy's friendship with a burn victim is perfect for fans of R. J. Palacio's Wonder