Standard 28 Book List 6-8 Grades 2020-2021

Order online, via email, by telephone (661-665-4686), or by visiting our Bakersfield showroom.  We have listed the paperback edition except in cases where the book is only available in hardback.  If you prefer hardback, give us a call.  Book prices listed below reflect the discounted price.

Non-Battle of the Books titles may also be ordered at the same time if you so desire.

Eight Cousins (Puffin Classics) Cover Image
Potentially Unavailable: Email or call Russo's for price and availability
ISBN: 9780140374568
Availability: Backordered
Published: Puffin Books - September 1st, 1995

Rose Campbell, tired and ill, has come to live at "The Aunt Hill" after the death of her beloved father. Six aunts fussing and fretting over her are bad enough, but what is a quiet 13-year-old girl to do with seven boisterous boy cousins?


Stand Tall Cover Image
$9.89
ISBN: 9780142404270
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Speak - August 16th, 2005

Tree, a six-foot-three-inch twelve-year-old, copes with his parents' recent divorce and his failure as an athlete by helping his grandfather, a Vietnam vet and recent amputee, and Sophie, a new girl at school.


The Boy in the Striped Pajamas Cover Image
$8.49
ISBN: 9780385751537
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ember - October 23rd, 2007

“Powerful and unsettling. . . . As memorable an introduction to the subject as The Diary of Anne Frank.” —USA Today
 


Breaker Boys: How a Photograph Helped End Child Labor (Captured History) Cover Image
$7.61
ISBN: 9780756545109
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Compass Point Books - August 1st, 2011

A digital solution for your classroom with features created with teachers and students in mind: - Perpetual license - 24 hour, 7 days a week access - No limit to the number of students accessing one title at a time - Provides a School to Home connection wherever internet is available - Easy to use - Ability to turn audio on and off - Words highlighted to match audio Little boys, some as young as 6


Walk Two Moons Cover Image
$7.64
ISBN: 9780064405171
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - June 18th, 2019

In her own singularly beautiful style, Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech intricately weaves together two tales, one funny, one bittersweet, to create a heartwarming, compelling, and utterly moving story of love, loss, and the complexity of human emotion. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschool


Bud, Not Buddy Cover Image
$7.64
ISBN: 9780440413288
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling - January 8th, 2002

The Newbery Medal and Coretta Scott King Award-winning classic about a boy who decides to hit the road to find his father—from Christopher Paul Curtis, author of The Watsons Go To Birmingham—1963, a Newbery and Coretta Scott King Honoree.
 


Becoming Ben Franklin: How a Candle-Maker's Son Helped Light the Flame of Liberty Cover Image
Potentially Unavailable: Email or call Russo's for price and availability
ISBN: 9780823423743
Availability: Backordered
Published: Holiday House - March 1st, 2013

In 1723 Ben Franklin arrived in Philadelphia as a poor and friendless seventeen-year-old who had run away from his family and an apprenticeship in Boston. Sixty-two years later he stepped ashore in nearly the same spot but was greeted by cannons, bells, and a cheering crowd, now a distinguished statesman, renowned author, and world-famous scientist.


On the Far Side of the Mountain Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780141312415
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - May 21st, 2001

Two years ago, Sam ran away from New York City to live in the Catskill Mountains. Now his younger sister Alice has joined him and is quietly living in a tree house of her own nearby. Their peaceful life is shattered when a conservation officer confiscates Sam’s falcon, Frightful, and Alice suddenly vanishes. Sam leaves his home to search for Alice, hoping to find Frightful, too.


Among the Hidden (Shadow Children #1) Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780689824753
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - March 1st, 2000

In a future where the Population Police enforce the law limiting a family to only two children, Luke, an illegal third child, has lived all his twelve years in isolation and fear on his family's farm in this start to the Shadow Children series from Margaret Peterson Haddix.

Luke has never been to school. He's never had a birthday party, or gone to a friend's house for an overnight.


Our Only May Amelia Cover Image
$5.94
ISBN: 9780062881779
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - July 2nd, 2019

The beloved Newbery Honor book by the author of The Fourteenth Goldfish, about a spirited heroine growing up with trying circumstances, a sense of adventure, and tremendous heart. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling.


The Ghost in the Tokaido Inn Cover Image
Potentially Unavailable: Email or call Russo's for price and availability
ISBN: 9780142405413
Availability: Special Order -- Russo's will research title and do our best to get it for you
Published: Puffin Books - September 8th, 2005

While attempting to solve the mystery of a stolen jewel, Seikei, a merchant's son who longs to be a samurai, joins a group of kabuki actors in eighteenth-century Japan.


Shouting at the Rain Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780147516770
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - May 5th, 2020

From the author of the New York Times bestseller Fish in a Tree comes a compelling story about perspective and learning to love the family you have.


The Lottery Rose Cover Image
$15.13
ISBN: 9780812470543
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Perfection Learning - October 15th, 1986

Song for a Whale Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9781524770266
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling - December 31st, 2019

In the spirit of modern-day classics like Fish in a Tree and Counting by 7s comes the Schneider Family Book Award-winning story of a deaf girl's connection to a whale whose song can't be heard by his species, and the journey she takes to help him.


The Unteachables Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780062563903
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - December 30th, 2019

A hilarious new middle grade novel from beloved and bestselling author Gordon Korman about what happens when the worst class of kids in school is paired with the worst teacher—perfect for fans of Ms. Bixby’s Last DayThis middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling.


The King's Fifth Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780618747832
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - September 4th, 2006

A 1967 Newbery Honor Book 

While awaiting trial for murder and withholding from the king the obligatory fifth of the gold found in Cibola, Esteban, a seventeen-year-old cartographer, recalls his adventures with a band of conquistadors.


A Single Shard Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780547534268
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Clarion Books - January 10th, 2011

Winner of the 2002 Newbery Medal

In this Newbery Medal-winning book set in 12th century Korea, Tree-ear, a 13-year-old orphan, lives under a bridge in Ch’ulp’o, a potters' village famed for delicate celadon ware.


Middle School, The Worst Years of My Life Cover Image
$6.80
ISBN: 9780316101691
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: jimmy patterson - November 6th, 2012

Discover the #1 bestselling middle-grade comic that inspired a major motion picture: Children's Choice Award winner James Patterson has never been more hilarious and heartwarming.


The Young Man And The Sea Cover Image
$13.91
ISBN: 9780439368308
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - May 1st, 2005

A story of determination and survival from the acclaimed author of FREAK THE MIGHTY. "This thrilling and elegant book ... will hold the interest of even the most stalwart landlubber." -- PW

Twelve-year-old Skiff Beaman's mom just died, and his fisherman dad is too depressed to drag himself off the couch and go to work. So these days Skiff has to take care of everything himself.


Death Mountain Cover Image
$9.85
ISBN: 9781561454280
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Peachtree Publishing Company - October 1st, 2007

An afternoon hike in the Sierra Mountains turns into a struggle for survival when two teenage girls become hopelessly lost in an electrical storm and must rely on their own wits and strength to endure.
Almost a year ago, Erin's mother Lannie suddenly left home without any explanation. Now Lannie wants to see her, but Erin feels miserable and unsure about seeing her mother again.


Counting by 7s Cover Image
$7.64
ISBN: 9780142422861
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - September 16th, 2014

A New York Times Bestseller

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.


The Egypt Game Cover Image
$7.64
ISBN: 9781416990512
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - July 7th, 2009

The first time Melanie Ross meets April Hall, she’s not sure they have anything in common. But she soon discovers that they both love anything to do with ancient Egypt. When they stumble upon a deserted storage yard, Melanie and April decide it’s the perfect spot for the Egypt Game.


Baseball in April and Other Stories Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780152025670
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - April 1st, 2000

The Mexican American author Gary Soto draws on his own experience of growing up in California’s Central Valley in this finely crafted collection of eleven short stories that reveal big themes in the small events of daily life.


The Land Cover Image
Potentially Unavailable: Email or call Russo's for price and availability
ISBN: 9781101997567
Availability: Backordered
Published: Puffin Books - April 12th, 2016

A stunning repackage of a companion to Mildred D. Taylor's Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry, with cover art by two-time Caldecott Honor Award winner Kadir Nelson!


Surviving the Applewhites Cover Image
$5.94
ISBN: 9780064410441
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - April 24th, 2012

The side-splittingly funny Newbery Honor Book about a rebellious boy who is sent to a home-schooling program run by one family—the creative, kooky, loud, and loving Applewhites!

Jake Semple is notorious. Rumor has it he managed to get kicked out of every school in Rhode Island, and actually burned the last one down to the ground.


Sammy Keyes and the Hotel Thief Cover Image
$6.79
ISBN: 9780679892649
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling - August 18th, 1998

Sammy Keyes must be a magnet for trouble...
 


Feathers Cover Image
$7.64
ISBN: 9780142415504
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - January 7th, 2010

A Newbery Honor Book

A beautiful and moving novel from a three-time Newbery Honor-winning author

Jacqueline Woodson is the 2018-2019 National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature